PyTorch on AMD-GPU

PyTorch on AMD-GPU

von Simon Peter Kuhn -
Anzahl Antworten: 0

Hello everyone,

has anyone experience in using PyTorch on an AMD-GPU? I'm trying to get it running but at the moment I'm facing some issues. Any help to get it running is appreciated! In the following, I provide some info about what I already tried.

To be clear: it is not really necessary to me to solve the errors I got, I just need to be able to use PyTorch on my AMD-GPU. If somebody has an easy and straight forward way to achieve this, then this solution would be very appreciated. :D

Also, I'm new to linux and only switched from windows as it seems like linux is the mainly supported OS for using PyTorch on an AMD-GPU. I'm aware of pytorch-directml which enables to use AMD-GPUs on Windows, however, when running the python code I'm using for my master thesis, I get an error that a certain function is not implemented. I think this is due to the fact that pytorch-directml is still a pre-release.

- As far as I know, it is necessary to install ROCm in order to use PyTorch with AMD. Is this correct or are there any other/easier ways?

- If I want to use pip to install PyTorch for AMD, it seems like I'm limited to ROCm 4.2 (stable) and ROCm 4.3 (preview). In terms of GPU-Support: According to the AMD docs (https://docs.amd.com/bundle/Deprecations/page/Deprecations_and_Warnings.html) I can't go higher than ROCm 4.5 since it is the last release which supports my GPU (Vega 10 Chip). So it seems to me that these are the ROCm versions which can work for me.

I tried the following two approaches: